THE SERIOUS STICKS DIDJERIDU FORUM

WELCOME !
It is currently 13.11.2018, 04:28

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: Low vocals help
PostPosted: 30.08.2015, 13:18 

Hey guys,
I've been playing the didge for about 6 months now. I am getting a lot better with the dingo bark and the kookaburra but I just can't figure out the low end vocals. I hear a lot of people do a low growl and also a low noise that almost sounds like a wild boar. Any tips on how to hit those low end vocals?

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Low vocals help
PostPosted: 30.08.2015, 20:35 

It is difficult to describe how to make different sound & even more difficult to copy some one else's sounds!
However I seem to remember being in a similar quandary at your stage as well!!
It all comes together in the end - although that is not really true as you will still be learning in 2 years time & probably 10 years time.
Anyway, just keep trying out things & you will develop your own special sounds.
I found it took me a year or so to get really confident with the breathing and timing & then I found I could concentrate more on developing individual sounds.

Profile E-mail  

PostPosted: 30.08.2015, 20:52 

:oops:
:mumum:

Hey, wait: I’ve forgotten to write down my password, so I forgot about this forum? Man, I seriously lack some mental skillz…
Ironbark211 wrote:
Hey guys,
I've been playing the didge for about 6 months now. I am getting a lot better with the dingo bark and the kookaburra but I just can't figure out the low end vocals. I hear a lot of people do a low growl and also a low noise that almost sounds like a wild boar. Any tips on how to hit those low end vocals?

Funny, because most of my (male) students have the opposite problem …

Well, mostly coordination, I guess — lips, in particular. 8)
— practice[™] practice[™] practice[™] is the appropriate mantra, you may have heard of it … :D

Okay, jokes aside: