THE SERIOUS STICKS DIDJERIDU FORUM

WELCOME !
It is currently 15.11.2018, 16:32

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: Loud Circular Breathing
PostPosted: 11.01.2012, 21:24 

I'm fairly new to playing the didgeridoo. I started on Labor day last year, and learned how to circular breathe in 3 days. Needless to say I was pretty pumped. I'd been a trombone and saxophone player for years, so I'd thought of circular breathing as being the holy grail of wind techniques, but it's not so bad after all!

Anyway, fast forward. I'm getting more comfortable with playing now, and making more complex rhythms, but there's one unshakable part of my playing that ruins it for my listeners: You can hear me take in a great big breathe through my nose each time I circular breathe. I'll try to record and upload a sample for you to hear. I'm not "sniffing", but keeping my nasal passages as open as I can, but you can hear this big rush of air intake. I cannot bounce breathe, and think I might just be overextending myself on how often I breathe by a bit between parts of my rhythms.

One thing I do know is that I'm allergic to pollen, and I use a wax mouthpiece. Is it possible that over time my nasal passages are becoming swollen as I play? Might be a contributing factor, or just irrelevant, but it seems like after playing 20 minutes or so I have a slightly blocked nose and dry throat. I'm not getting any red or swollen lips though that'd come with an allergic reaction, so that might not be an issue.

Possible allergy related stuff aside, is this a common phase for new players? If so, how were you able to overcome this?

Thanks in advance!

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Loud Circular Breathing
PostPosted: 12.01.2012, 09:40 

Hi Mirakk,

Welcome to the forum and congrats on learning circular breathing. It's really not that hard is it?