THE SERIOUS STICKS DIDJERIDU FORUM

WELCOME !
It is currently 13.11.2018, 04:29

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: Contemporary to traditional ... how do you do it
PostPosted: 01.07.2009, 14:06 

Hi Kyle..Just joined up as I have a burning question which I meant to ask you at the Gathering.
I have been playing contemporary didge for 15 years and have always been fascinated by the trad style(s). People say I can practice both styles some say I will have to start all over again and need a certain kind of didge for this type of playing...so naturally I am getting real confused! I have done a few workshops with Rob and Matt and sort of understand what it's all about but just need some advice as to the best route to take. Thought you'd be the best person to ask...Cheers Jono :)

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Contemporary to traditional ... how do you do it
PostPosted: 01.07.2009, 14:16 

Hey Jono,

I wouldn't worry too much about the stick you're playing on for the time being. True, it might be easier to play certain traditional styles on sticks designed for that purpose but you should be able to pick up the basics on any decent stick.

As far as picking up the technique is concerned, I would suggest you get a copy of Milkay Munungurr's Hard Tongue Didgeridoo CD, Darryl Dikarrna's Mago Masterclass CD and Jeremy Cloake's Balanda Yidaki Dhukarr CD - all of which you can get from our friendly forum hosts Christian and John ( http://www.serioussticks.com/cds.php?language=en ). These great tutorial CDs will give you an idea of the basics and, importantly, provide great reference material for you on this journey.

I'll happily sit down with you at DHRF (I'm assuming you're going) and address any questions you have then.

Hope this helps,

Kyle

PostPosted: 01.07.2009, 15:33