THE SERIOUS STICKS DIDJERIDU FORUM

WELCOME !
It is currently 21.11.2018, 15:55

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: Heartbreak Redux
PostPosted: 17.02.2013, 23:53 

Hi,all: I wasn't really sure where to put my first post, but need dictates that I begin here. I just acquired a really nice stick, made by Norman Lane in approximately the early 1990s. I do not believe it was ever played, except perhaps by Norman when testing it out, and foolishly perhaps, I started playing it, a little at first, but then longer duration, and the last time it developedy a few small hairline cracks near the top, but enough to let air through. It still sounds really nice, but I need to do something about the cracks, and possibly use some kind of oil or other moisturizer or preservatives. Hopefully I will be able to upload some pictures both of the stick and close-up of the cracks.  I know it happens, but I still feel really bad about it, and can anyone offer some suggestions?

Also, how exactly do you apply the oil, ie, just pour it in and roll it around?; and is there a brand name someone has had good results with?  And re: beeswax, do you just stuff it in the crack till flush with the body?

Cheers,

Seth

Attachments:
crack 2 3.jpg
crack 2 3.jpg [ 762.87 KiB | Viewed 3069 times ]
full didge.jpg
full didge.jpg [ 173.69 KiB | Viewed 3033 times ]
crack.jpg
crack.jpg [ 730.96 KiB | Viewed 3052 times ]
 Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Heartbreak Redux
PostPosted: 18.02.2013, 09:43 

Nice looking stick! Those cracks, if leaking, will need a real repair before oiling the instrument (if you choose to). I would probably fill those with a mixture of fine sawdust and glue which will be pretty hard to see once dried. Alternatively, you could just squeeze some PVA glue into the cracks. Historically, cracks like this would have been filled with sugarbag beeswax, which works but is not a permanent solution.