THE SERIOUS STICKS DIDJERIDU FORUM

WELCOME !
It is currently 21.11.2018, 15:56

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: mago
PostPosted: 03.01.2009, 05:35 

call me a newbie but i have been making and playing didgeridoos for over 20 years and have never herd of a mago

could someone please fill me in

im also interested in the difference from a yidaki to a didge
I though yidaki was just a different tribes name for what is essentually a didge.

help lol

karl hardy

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: mago
PostPosted: 03.01.2009, 09:19 

Hi Karl,

I do believe my first instrument (circa 1995/6) was one of your bamboo ones!

Mago belong to the Ethnomusicologist Alice Moyle's 'Type A' classification of accompaniment in which the 'toot' or blown overtone is not used in the didjeridu playing styles of the area. This type of instrument is used by the clans of Western and North Central Arnhem Land and affiliated areas west and south-west of Darwin in Australia's Top End. Generally, mago are rich in harmonics, a characteristic that is emphasized in the local playing techniques.

Yidaki on the other hand belong to Moyle's 'Type B' classification of accompaniment in which the 'toot' or blown overtone is utilised in the musical compositions of the area, mainly North Eastern Arnhem Land and Groote Eylandt. Yidaki are typically longer with narrow necks, a characteristic which enables the use of fast tongue inflections and the staccato-like overtones used to great effect in the regional playing styles.

Generally speaking, mago are West Arnhem Land instruments and Yidaki are East Arnhem Land instruments although this is a very broad brushstroke generalization.

Kyle

Post subject: This as got me thinking!
PostPosted: 04.01.2009, 00:28