THE SERIOUS STICKS DIDJERIDU FORUM

WELCOME !
It is currently 10.12.2018, 01:40

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: Gourd didge craft 101
PostPosted: 18.06.2015, 05:58 

Need all the help I can get with my first gourd didgeridoo. I would like to hear from the community about what makes a great sounding gourd didge. I'm particularly interested in connecting the pieces. I know of the telescoping technique and the sleve method are there any other methods. Which techniques are better than others? Also info on adheasives and epoxys are welcome. Thanks for any help.

Profile E-mail  

Post subject: Re: Gourd didge craft 101
PostPosted: 20.06.2015, 12:55 

Hi Didge Joe, I have made two Gourides so far. No doubt you have seen Paul Sedgwick's fantastic webpage at http://www.gourddidgeridoo.com/gourddidgeridoos.html I am no expert and I have not made one that I am 100% happy with, but practise does make better each time you make one. I think if I had enough gourds to choose from I could end up making an awesome one. Last time I went to the gourd craft place, I couldn't find enough snake gourds that I really liked the shape and size of. It depends on what they have in stock at the time unless you can grow your own.

Buy heaps of them. You need good choice in shapes and sizes - especially if you are very serious about an awesome didge that is shaped the best you can make.

I use a vice and hacksaw to cut them. Hold your breath and don't breathe anything in when cutting them, as you might breathe in some mould and get the gourd flu.

I arrange them on the ground from thinnest to thickest and try to imagine the shape I want to make, aiming for a taper. Once you have cut them open you can play with telescoping. Don't force them together as they will crack.