THE SERIOUS STICKS DIDJERIDU FORUM

WELCOME !
It is currently 19.11.2018, 00:32

All times are UTC + 1 hour

Post subject: Artist Adam Hill
PostPosted: 11.03.2008, 08:01 

I received the following focus on Aboriginal artist Adam Hill, which I thought some of you would find interesting too!
Courtesy of the Aboriginal Art directory, Australia.

Briefly describe yourself. When and how did you first become interested in art? How long have you been a practising artist?

I am a complex man striving for simple answers. I became interested in art when I first distinguished which end of the pencil was for drawing and which was for chewing. I've been a professional artist for 10 years now.

2. What is important to you in your art? What are you aspiring for with the art that you create?

It is important for me to effectively communicate my message of visual activism. I aspire to educate a society that is rapidly disconnecting itself from the harsh reality of continued injustice, intolerance, ignorance and social decay.

How do people respond when understanding your messages of visual activism?

Generally, my work can carry 'love / hate' reactions. Some have said it's "too confrontational" ("I'd hardly hang 'that' on my lounge room wall"). My response to that is... "you need to relocate suburbs, somewhere a little closer to reality". (Then your neighbours will flock to your living room!) Others say "right on the button"!

What do you think causes this disconnection in our community?

Ignorance, intolerance, fear, jealousy, greed, self indulgence, vanity, unconscious (inherent) racism ...

3. What do you find to be the most exciting and challenging parts about being an artist?

The most exciting thing for me personally, is dealing with the fickle and ultra conservative art society of this city, that very reality check. (No offense to the dominant egos).